An Angry Letter to Dad.

Dear Dad,

When you asked me if I understood why you stay away from the house, I didn’t. When you asked me how I felt when Tom and I broke up, I rolled my eyes because you think that is comparable. Yes, I didn’t want to see Tom. I didn’t want to be around him or think about him. But here is the difference: there weren’t children involved.

And yes, I told you to grow the fuck up because there are children involved. You are hurting, I get it. You don’t want to see mom or the house; I get it. But what I don’t get is that you feel it is acceptable to not see your two daughters for weeks on end just because you’re hurting. Grow the fuck up. Get over it. See your children.

And no, I’m not ecstatic over the divorce and neither is mother. Thanks to your inability to talk things out with her, I’ve had to be the one to hold my own mother when she cries because you won’t talk to her (or when you do, you tell her that you feel she is going to hell because her soul isn’t saved — not cool).

I’m sorry that your plan to be married to mom forever and to live in our house forever isn’t happening anymore, but whose fault was the divorce? Yes, mom has her issues, but stop acting blameless. Stop playing the victim.

Stop being a shitty father.

About returntoneverland

All around procrastinator, screw-up extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

