It’s Happened.

It has finally happened. I have become the pessimistic son-of-a-bitch I have always dreaded. 

My best friend texted me saying that as of Friday, she was no longer single. My very first thought was an image of me holding her as she cried over her broken heart. Yeah, I have turned into that kind of person. To be slightly fair, she met this guy a few weeks ago, he lives four hours away, and they have only had face-to-face contact once.

Of course, I’m sure a lot of people were thinking the same thing about me when I began dating Brandon. But that is exactly it. People did think that I was crazy for dating him after only a month of talking and seeing each other only two times. And they were right, I was crazy. And that was the relationship that set me on this path to pessimism. And I don’t want the same thing for her. 

But that is all  I can think about.

She is happy — ecstatic actually. Her last boyfriend was the guy she lost her v-card to, so this is a big step for her. And I am proud of her for taking it, because it was a bumpy road trying to get her over her ex. But now that she has passed that milestone, I am frightened for her, because I know it won’t work out. I know she is going to be handed a pile of dust that was once her heart. Because he is a boy. Who lives four hours away. Who is in the army. 

Or,  this could be it for her. This could be her happily ever after.

Nah.

About returntoneverland

All around procrastinator, screw-up extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

