No Friends after 5 Weeks.

I hate people who complain about not having any friends. Sweetheart, have you even tried? As an RA, this is one of the main problems I run into. A resident comes to me, all depressed and feeling alone, telling me it is the fifth week of school and they still have no friends. And since they aren’t a resident, I can’t yell at them to stop acting so damn helpless. The conversation goes like this:

“Why doesn’t anyone want to be friends with me? What is wrong with me?

“Well, are you apart of any clubs or organizations on campus?”

“No.”

“That would be a good place to start…”

“But I have no one to go with.”

“Neither does half of the other people that first join. You go to make new friends with similar interests.”

“Oh, I never thought of that.”

“Have you talked to anyone on our floor?”

“I go into the lounge and sit there, but no one pays attention to me.”

“Why don’t you speak up and say hello instead of waiting for someone?”

“Because I’m scared.”

“Sweetheart, this is college. Time to not be afraid.”

“I guess.”

“See, there are so many avenues for you to find friends, you just have to take them.”

And then a week or so later, I overhear the same resident crying to their mother about how they have no friends.

You aren’t going to find any friends by watching the world go by. Get off your ass and get out into the big scary world. You’ll have to eventually.

About returntoneverland

All around procrastinator, screw-up extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

