What’s in a Name?

Today, bored at work, I slipped my phone out of my pocket to see how unpopular I was. When I quickly glanced at the screen, it was obvious I was very unpopular. But I had a Facebook notification, which usually means one of my best friends posted a status needing out about something. I typically ignore that little red circle at the top right of the Facebook app, but I was bored at work and needed something to do. So I clicked on it. And surprise! I had a friend request! I eagerly clicked on the notification to see who thought they were worthy to be my friend.

And to my surprise, his name showed up.

Brandon L. 

What?

Where the hell did that come from?

I spent a few minutes with my mouth hanging open. My friend Savanna took my phone, looked at it, and said “Don’t even think about it.” She ignored the friend request for me, and by that time I was able to get one word out: “What?” And that was the only thing I was able to say for the next ten minutes. I went through an array of motions in just a few seconds. First anger, then frustration, then confusion, then dumbfoundment (is that a real word?). It did cross my mind to accept the request, but that is because I really wanted to rub it in his face that I was doing a hell of a lot better than him. But I didn’t. 

Isn’t it odd that seeing one single name can change the course of your entire day? 

About returntoneverland

All around procrastinator, screw-up extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

